FYROM Parliament Approves Prespes Agreement



The parliament of FYROM approved the name “Republic of North Macedonia” and other constitutional changes tabled by the government of Zoran Zaev based on the Prespes Agreement on Friday evening, with 81 votes for and none against.

The four amendments ratified under summary procedures change the country's name to "Republic of North Macedonia"; update the preamble of the constitution; redefine the state's role in terms of the diaspora, and establish FYROM's respect of territorial integrity and national sovereignty of its neighbouring states.

The Prespes Agreement will now need to be ratified by the Greek parliament before it comes into effect.

In an earlier announcement on Friday, the government said it had secured the approval of at least 80 deputies of a total of 120, including two deputies of the opposition Albanian party "Besa".

The government said it had resolved the objections of Besa over the determination of nationality, which will be "Macedonian/Citizens of the Democracy of North Macedonia," and it clarified for the party how nationality would be translated into the Albanian language for citizens of ethnic Albanian descent.

*Source: AMNA 


Copyright Greekcitytimes 2024