The much-loved Athens Open Air Film Festival will open on June 5, 2019, in collaboration with the Athens & Epidaurus Festival, which has become an annual tradition.

The 9th Athens Open Air Film Festival returns this summer in the Greek capital with film screenings that will convert the city’s neighbourhoods, parks, plazas, beaches, archaeological sites and landmarks into open air cinemas with free admission for the public.

Starting in June and ends in August, will be organised jointly by the Athens municipality’s sports, culture and youth organisation (OPANDA), using many new locations. It will seek to recreate the magic of well-loved and classic films shown on the big screen they were made for, bringing some of the masterpieces of world cinema by directors such as Federico Fellini, David Lynch, Michelangelo Antonioni, Akira Kurosawa, Alfred Hitchcock, Mike Leigh, Jean-Pierre Melville, Luis Bunuel, Stephen Frears, Friedrich Murnau and many others.

Among the highlights will be the screening of Hitchcock’s ‘Vertigo’ in the Little Theatre of Ancient Epidaurus, which will host a ‘silver screen’ for the second time in its history following the screening of Michael Cacoyannis’ ‘Electra’ last year.

The festival kicks off on June 5 at the Roman Agora in central Athens, with Federico Fellini’s “Amarcord” at 21:30 and ends of August 28 with the screening of Terry Gilliam’s “Brazil” at 21:00 at Kolonos Theatre.

Full programme below:

JUNE
Wednesday, June 5, Roman Agora (new location)
(Admission with free entrance coupons)
“Amarcord” by Federico Fellini
Duration: 123 min./ Starting 21:30

Friday, June 7, Avyssinias Square
“Naked” by Mike Leigh
Duration: 132 min./ Starting 21:30

Thursday, June 13, Pireos 260
“The Cook, the Thief, His Wife and Her Lover” by Peter Greenaway
Duration: 124 min./ Starting 21:30

Wednesday, June 19, Platos Academy
“The Red Shoes” by Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger
Duration: 133 min./ Starting 21:30

Saturday, June 22, Little Theatre of Ancient Epidaurus
“Vertigo” by Alfred Hitchcock
Duration: 128 min./ Starting 21:30

Tuesday, June 25, Vrachon/Anna Synodinou Theatre (new location)
“Picnic at Hanging Rock” by Peter Weir
Duration: 115 min./ Starting 21:30

Thursday, June 27, French Archaeological School
“The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie” by Luis Bunuel
Duration: 102 min./ Starting 21:30

Saturday, June 29, Doukissis Plakentias Mansion (new location)
“Dangerous Liaisons” by Stephen Frears
Duration: 119 min./ Starting 21:30

JULY

Tuesday, July 2, Avdi Square
“Point Blank” by John Boorman
Duration: 92 min./ Starting 21:30

Friday, July 5, Lycabettus
“Lost Highway” by David Lynch
Duration: 134 min./ Starting 21:30

Monday, July 8, Cine Riviera
“Stray Dog” by Akira Kurosawa
Duration: 122 min./ Starting 21:30

Wednesday, July 10, Parko Lipasmaton, Drapetsona (new location)
“Enter the Dragon” by Robert Clouse
Duration: 99 min./ Starting 21:30

Friday, July 12, Byzantine and Christian Museum
“Army of Shadows” by Jean-Pierre Melville
Duration: 145 min./ Starting 21:30

Monday, July 15, Rematia Theatre
“Sunrise” by Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau
(With live music by Sancho 003)
Duration: 95 min./ Starting 21:30

Wednesday, July 17, Dionysiou Areopagitou Street
“Imitation of Life” by Douglas Sirk
Duration: 125 min./ Starting 21:30

Wednesday, July 24, Technopolis, Gazi
“Blow-Up” by Michelangelo Antonioni
Duration: 111 min./ Starting 21:30

Friday, July 27, Petralona Park
“Poltergeist” by Toby Hooper
Duration: 114 min./ Starting 21:30

AUGUST

Friday, August 23, Numismatic Museum
“Il Sorpasso” by Dino Risi
Duration: 105 min./ Starting 21:00

Wednesday, August 28, Kolonos Theatre
“Brazil” by Terry Gilliam
Duration: 132 min./ Starting 21:00

Athens & Epidaurus Festival 2019 schedule is announced


X