Greece extends flight ban

athens aiport

athens aiport

The Civil Aviation Authority on Wednesday announced that flights to and from six countries has been extended until May 15, as part of the measures to halt the spread of the coronavirus in Greece.

According to the notice to airmen (NOTAMS) issued by the authority, the ban concerns Italy, Spain, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands and Germany.

The ban excludes flights transporting cargo, sanitary and humanitarian supplies. Also exempt are ferry flights, state, emergency, refuelling and military flights, as well as those by European Union border agency Frontex, and flights to support the national healthcare system and repatriate Greek citizens.

Greek authorities are also extending a temporary ban on entrance to non-EU nationals with the following exceptions: health workers; third-country nationals who have a long-term visa in a European and Schengen country; government, diplomatic, military and humanitarian staff; aircraft crews; and non-EU citizens who have obtained a travel permit from a Greek Consulate.

1 Comment

Comments are closed

Copyright Greekcitytimes 2024