Greece extends flight ban for seven countries



The ban on flights between Greece and seven countries has been extended to protect public health from the further spread of the Covid-19. the Civil Aviation Service (CAS) said on Friday.

In addition, all international flights must land only at the country's main airport, the Athens International Airport (AIA).

Countries affected by the extension of suspended flights include Albania, Italy, the Netherlands, North Macedonia, Spain, Turkey and the United Kingdom. A total of 5 Notams were issued with the following restrictions:

  •  All flights to and from Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, and the United Kingdom are suspended until May 31 (23:59)
  • All flights to and from Albania, North Macedonia are suspended to June 14 (23:59)
  • All flights from Turkey to Greece are suspended to June 14 (23:59)
  • Until May 31 (23:59), all international flights are obliged to land at AIA

Exceptions to the suspensions include cargo and emergency flights, military and Frontex flights, and flights to repatriate of Greek nationals, among others.

In addition, the ban of entry by non-EU nationals is extended to May 31 (23:59). The exception includes family members, citizens of Schengen zone countries, health personnel, and third-country citizens with long-term visas to EU or Schengen countries, civil and defence authorities, humanitarian personnel, airline crew, and any non-EU citizen with a travel permit issued by a Greek consulate.

CAS noted that all domestic flights will gradually introduce regular schedules, which were suspended for pandemic reasons, as of May 18 (Monday).


Comments are closed