Socially distanced new members of the cabinet sworn in

*Photo credit: INTIME

The new members of the cabinet were sworn in at the Presidential Mansion on Wednesday before President of the Hellenic Republic Katerina Sakellaropoulou and in the presence of Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis.

A few days ago, it was announced Mitsotakis reshuffled his cabinet to help the country effectively manage European funds that it has secured to tackle the fallout of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The move was an "operational improvement" to the government, the PM's spokesman Stelios Petsas said. Among the goals of the revamp was the "management of increased EU funds" and the "organisational reinforcement" of the health ministry, he added.

The new government ministers:

  • Panagiotis Tsakloglou, Deputy Minister of Labour and Social Affairs responsible for issue of social security
  • Zoe Rapti, Deputy Health Minister responsible for issues of Mental Health
  • Nikos Tagaras, Deputy Environment and Energy Minister responsible for environment protection issues.
  • Theodoros Skylakakis, Alternate Finance Minister responsible for Fiscal Policy
  • Nikos Papathanasis, Alternate Development and Investments Minister responsible for private investments and for public and private-sector partnerships.

The new members of the government wore masks against the coronavirus for the swearing-in process, which they had received as a gift earlier from the Prime Minister.