Greece suspends inbound flights from Barcelona and Catalonia

Greece suspends inbound flights from Barcelona and Catalonia

Greece will ban flights to and from Barcelona and Catalonia from Monday, following a spike of covid-19 cases in those areas.

The announcement was made by Deputy Minister of Civil Protection and Crisis Management, Nikos Hardalias.

He also reported the extension of travel restrictions for foreign visitors until September 19. Greece requires visitors from a list of countries, including Belgium, Bulgaria, Romania, Malta, Sweden, Spain, Albania, North Macedonia and the United Arab Emirates, to show a negative Covid-19 test to enter the country.

Due to improved epidemiological data, the obligation for a negative covid-19 test from visitors from the Netherlands is suspended.

On Friday, Greece recorded 270 new cases of COVID-19 in the latest 24-hour reporting period.

The total number of cases in Greece stands at 9,800.

2,012 are considered to be related to travel from abroad and 4,347 are related to an already known case.

Thirty-five individuals are in the ICU, and their median age is 68 years. 42.9% have an underlying condition and/or are aged 70 and above. Another 147 have been discharged from ICUs since the start of the pandemic in Greece.

The country’s pandemic death toll stands at 259. The median age of all was 78 years and 93.8% of the deceased had an underlying condition and/or are aged 70 and above.

Hardalias also announced the extension of safety measures for another 14 days in several regions.

Apart from the mandatory use of face masks both in outdoor and indoor areas, as of 06:00 on Saturday, parties, fairs, processions, public stall markets, gatherings of citizens over nine people for any reason (both public and private), are banned in both Lesvos and Zakynthos. Furthermore,the maximum number of seated customers at restaurants is now four, unless they are first-degree relatives in which case up to six people are allowed.

Restrictive measures have also been extended for two weeks on the islands of Paros, Antiparos, Mykonos, Corfu, the municipalities of Santorini and Kos islands, the regional units of Chalkidiki and Chania, Crete, eastern Macedonia and Thrace, Attica, and at the regional units of Thessaloniki, Larissa, Corfu, Karditsa, Pella and Pieria, northern Greece.

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed