Cyprus to lift travel ban on 56 countries

Cyprus to lift travel ban on 56 countries

Cyprus to lift travel ban on 56 countries

As of January 15, 2021, Cyprus will lift its travel ban on 56 countries.

The list includes:

  • EU member states
  • European Economic Area States (Norway, Iceland, Switzerland, Lichtenstein)
  • Third countries featured on the EU Council Recommendation document (EU 2020/912 of 30 June 2020, on the temporary restriction on non-essential travel into the EU and the possible lifting of such restriction)
  • The United Kingdom, Russia, Israel, Ukraine, Belarus, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, the UAE and Saudi Arabia.

The updated protocols for travel and tourism recently released by the Cypriot government, divides countries by green, orange, red and grey.

The new categorization system is in accordance with the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control standards (ECDC).

Cyprus travel 2a

The new protocols will come into effect on January 15, and by March 15, all 56 countries in category grey will be moved to either green, orange or red following ECDC evaluations.

The Cypriot government “wishes to reaffirm its commitment to the safety of everybody who choses Cyprus as their destinations of choice. As announced a few months ago, we will continue to take care of travellers who test positive for coronavirus during their stay, as well as their close contacts,” the announcement said.

Cyprus to receive first batch of covid-19 vaccine on December 26

Cyprus will receive its first batch of Pfizer-BioNTech’s COVID-19 vaccine on December 26 and will begin administering it the following day, according to the Healthy Ministry.

“Following the much-anticipated approval of the Pfzizer vaccine by the European Medicines Agency, it is only a matter of time before the flight with the first batch of vaccines arrives. As everything indicates, the arrival of the first batch will take place the day after Christmas,” senior health official Olga Kalakouta said.

Cyprus President Nicos Anastasiades will be among the first to receive the COVID-19 vaccine.

Priority will be given to health professionals and care home employees. After, citizens above 80 will be prioritised and those above 75 who belong to vulnerable groups.

GCT Team

This article was researched and written by a GCT team member.