Exposed documents reveal Turkey planned invasion of 131 Greek islands and islets

1 6 2

The Turkish military listed 131 Greek islands, islets and rock formations in the Aegean Sea to be invaded during a conflict, according to a confidential document obtained by Nordic Monitor.

A PowerPoint presentation with 16 slides, which included a map with the locations marked, according to Nordic Monitor "appears to have been prepared by the War Academies and lacks a date stamp."

The PowerPoint presentation discussed how the Turkish military would invade these islands with special forces from air and sea in a time of crisis between Greece and Turkey.

Prosecutor Okan Bato accidently revealed the invasion plan when he placed it in the evidentiary file when he was supposed to only make a brief note and put it away in a safe in a Smyrna (Σμύρνα, Turkish: İzmir) courthouse.

Nordic Monitor revealed that "the same document was also shared with another prosecutor, Cihat İpekçi, in Ankara in another case" but the "prosecutor overlooked the sensitivity of the document as well."

1 6 2
Excerpt of the PowerPoint slide.

The islands, islets and rock formations listed for invasion were:

  • three locations on Ladoxer in Greek
  • 13 on Oinousses
  • 21 on Fimena
  • 18 on Arki
  • 15 Pserimos
  • 12 on Kalolimnos
  • 2 on Farmakonisi
  • 10 on Yali
  • 11 on Levita
  • 2 on Strongili), and
  • 24 locations around the island of Crete.

The planned invasion would see Turkish special forces have fire cover from the air force, naval frigates and artillery fire from the mainland.

Another slide from the presentation that shows how Turkish special forces and elite navy units would be dispatched to the Greek islands and islets.

Turkey is the only country that refers to and demands the demilitarisation of the eastern Aegean islands and questions Greek sovereignty over them.

With regard to the militarisation of the islands in the Eastern Aegean, various international agreements apply. In particular:

• the status of the islands of Limnos and Samothrace was governed by the 1923 Lausanne Treaty on the Straits, but was been replaced by the 1936 Montreux Treaty;

• the status of the islands of Lesvos, Chios, Samos and Ikaria, is governed by the 1923 Lausanne Peace Treaty; and

• the status of the Dodecanese islands is governed by the 1947 Paris Peace Treaty.

It is already extensively outlined here why Greece does not have to demilitarise its islands despite Turkish demands, especially now that it has been exposed that they have plans for their invasion.

READ MORE: Turkish claims on demilitarising the Aegean Islands via Treaty of Lausanne are fake: Here’s why.