Med 5 request 'mandatory solidarity' on migration

Med 5 request 'mandatory solidarity' on migration

Med 5 request 'mandatory solidarity' on migration

The interior ministers of the five Mediterranean countries on the frontline of Europe’s migration crisis, have called for more solidarity from the EU.

“We cannot have the five Mediterranean member states taking all of the pressure from the rest of the European Union,” Greek Migration Minister Notis Mitarachi told Reuters.

“We need the solidarity to be mandatory.”

Greece, Malta, Cyprus, Italy and Spain created the “MED 5” group last year in an effort to form a united front and influence the EU’s new migration and asylum pact.

“We can no longer be punished for our geographical position,” said Malta’s Home Affairs Minister Byron Camilleri.

The 5 states want:

  • Better cooperation with the so-called countries of origin in Africa, the Middle East and South Asia
  • More EU members willing to take up refugees
  • A centralised European repatriation mechanism, under the Commission.

On his part, European Commission Vice President Margaritis Schinas  said Mediterranean countries were “forced, by geography, to carry a disproportionately large burden of the refugee crisis."

*More on GCT: North Aegean island mayors call on the EU to amend proposal for the new migration pact
GCT Team

This article was researched and written by a GCT team member.