UK unveils countries on travel 'green list'

UK unveils countries on travel 'green list'

UK unveils countries on travel 'green list'

The British government has revealed its much-awaited “green list” of countries that holidaymakers will soon be allowed to visit without having to quarantine on their return.

Last month, Prime Minister Boris Johnson announced that international travel will resume on May 17.

Traditional holiday spots including Greece, France, Italy and Spain have not made the 'green list' due to increasing Covid-19 cases.

Here are the 12 countries on the "green list":
  • Portugal
  • Israel
  • Singapore
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Brunei
  • Iceland
  • Gibraltar
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • St Helena, Tristan de Cunha, Ascension Island

*Note: entry to Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Brunei and the Faroe Islands is severely restricted.

Outside those 12, other nations have been divided into an “amber” and a “red” list.

Amber List:

Includes most popular UK holiday destinations such as Greece, Cyprus Spain, France and Italy.

Transport secretary Grant Shapps said "you should not be travelling to these places right now".

Those who go against that guidance must take two post-arrival tests- on days 2 and 8.

They are also required to self-isolate at home for 10 days, although they can reduce that time if they take an additional negative test on day 5.

Red List:

Among the countries on the red list are Brazil, India, South Africa and the United Arab Emirates.

Those returning from a red list country must stay in a quarantine hotel for 11 nights at a cost of £1,750.

*More on GCT: UK investors look to snap up real estate in Greece
GCT Team

This article was researched and written by a GCT team member.