EU to add United States to safe travel list

On this day in 1528, Theodoros Griego was the first Greek to set foot in the USA

The European Union approved on Wednesday to add the United States to their list of countries to allow non-essential travel, EU diplomats said.

Ambassadors from the EU’s 27 countries authorised the United States and five other countries at a meeting on Wednesday, with the change to take effect in the coming days.

Albania, Lebanon, North Macedonia, Serbia and Taiwan will be added, while Chinese administrative regions Hong Kong and Macau will be included with a requirement for reciprocity removed.

EU countries are recommended gradually to lift travel restrictions for the current eight countries on the list – Australia, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand.

Individual EU countries still have the option to demand a negative COVID-19 test or a period of quarantine on arrival.