Greece bans entry of certain foreign nationals without proof of vaccination


Foreign nationals from Rwanda and Thailand are now required to show evidence of vaccination when travelling to Greece said the country's Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) on Thursday after removing them from the list of countries whose citizens were exempt from entry restrictions.

According to the CAA,  nationals from these countries need to carry  a certificate (in English) issued by the relevant authority in their country of departure that they have completed coronavirus vaccination at least 14 days before arrival.  Alternatively, they can also provide a negative result of a PCR test for Covid-19 done in the last 72 hours before arrival, or a negative rapid test done up to 48 hours ahead of arrival to Greece.

Permanent residents of the European Union and the Schengen area are exempted from the restricted entry notam, as are citizens of the following countries: Albania, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brunei, Canada, China, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America.

CAA's current entry-ban notam was also extended to July 22 and first came into effect on May 14.

CAA also extended to July 16 the current travelling requirements for domestic flights heading to Greek islands. Passengers are required to provide a completed vaccination certificate, a negative PCR or rapid diagnostic test, or a previous Covid-19 infection certificate.


READ: Greece Exempts Nationals Of Another 5 Countries From Entry Restrictions