COVID-19 Restrictions Extended in Greece for Foreign Arrivals

Athens airport passengers passanger

Greece is still welcoming tourists free of COVID-19, but health measures to deal with the ongoing pandemic will be extended at least until Aug. 19 for foreign visitors and international arrivals.

The Hellenic Civil Aviation Authority (HCAA) announced the decision, said GTP headlines, as the New Democracy government's Eleuthera (Freedom) vaccination campaign has stalled.
Only half of the country's population of 10.7 million people has been fully vaccinated with two required shots of most versions of the single-shot Johnson & Johnson from the United States.
But that's far short of the 70 per cent that health officials said is needed to beat back the pandemic and achieve herd immunity to finally end the crisis that's more than 18 months old and continuing.

Only those with proof of vaccination, a negative molecular test or a document showing they've recovered from the Coronavirus are allowed into Greece, including islands where tourism workers don't have to be vaccinated.
So far, only health care workers in Greece will be required to be inoculated, with a hardcore resistant group of around 10 per cent refusing, due to start being suspended on Sept. 1 unless they comply.
Greece is open for travellers from all EU and Schengen Area countries and has banned travellers from non-EU countries. The Schengen Area signifies a zone where 26 European countries abolished internal borders for the unrestricted movement.

Those travelling for essential reasons and travellers from 35 non-EU countries and territories are allowed to enter Greece - provided they have required documentation - without the requirement for subsequent self-isolation, the site said.
Those are Australia, Northern Macedonia, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, United Kingdom, Israel, Canada, Belarus, Bahrain, New Zealand, South Korea, Qatar, China, Kuwait, Ukraine, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Japan, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Jordan, Moldova, Brunei, Kosovo, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, the Vatican and Turkey.