Turkish Cypriots linked to Varosha reopening have their Cyprus passports revoked

cabinet 1536x768 1

The cabinet on Monday decided to rescind the passports of 14 Turkish Cypriots, including leader Ersin Tatar, seen as undermining the Republic of Cyprus reported by the Cyprus mail.

The decision concerns Turkish Cypriot officials and others involved in the opening of Varosha, government spokesman Marios Pelekanos said after a three-hour cabinet meeting at the presidential residence in Troodos.

“During today’s session, the cabinet decided to rescind or refuse renewal or issue Republic of Cyprus passports to a number of individuals who either participate in the so-called cabinet of the breakaway state or are members of the committee to open Varosha,” he said.

Reports said the decision concerns 10 members of Tatar’s ‘cabinet’ including the Turkish Cypriot leader himself, and four members of the committee.

Turkish Cypriot newspaper Kibris Postasi later published the names of those targeted, which include ‘prime minister’ Ersan Saner, ‘foreign minister’ Tahsin Ertugruloglu, ‘tourism minister’ Fikri Ataoglu and the rest of the ‘cabinet’.

Their actions undermine the sovereignty, independence, territorial integrity, and security of the Republic of Cyprus, Pelekanos added.

“They are the same individuals who, through particular hostile actions towards the Republic of Cyprus, promote the implementation of Turkey’s plans to change the regime of the closed-off area of Varosha” in violation of UN resolutions.

The cabinet also decided to seek recourse at the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) against Turkey in connection with its decision to open Varosha.

This would be the fifth application filed by Cyprus against Turkey.

Pelekanos said the cabinet would ask the attorney-general to submit an appeal relating to Turkey’s and the breakaway state’s actions in the closed-off area of Varosha in “line with the recommendations of legal consultants of high standing.