Greece Imposes Testing Requirements for US & Egypt Travellers

Acropolis of Athens in Greece featured photo 1140x760 1

Authorities in Greece have announced that travellers from Egypt and the United States will undergo a mandatory testing process upon their arrival in the Hellenic Republic.

In contrast, travellers from India have their entry restrictions changed as the requirement of providing a test result upon arrival has ceased to apply, according to a statement published by the Greek Civil Aviation Authority (CAA)

Greek authorities have noted that the current air directive will remain effective for another week – Friday, October 1.

CAA has stressed that third countries’ nationals and their spouses or persons companioning them will be banned from entering the county. However, there won’t be any change in entry requirements from travellers from the EU and Schengen Area.

The mandatory testing requirement remains effective for Russian travellers reaching Greece, regardless of their vaccination status.

 They must present a PCR test performed 72 hours before or a rapid test carried out 48 hours before arrival. In addition, all travellers or permanent residents from Russia will be required to take a test with COVID-19 upon arrival in Greece.

Furthermore, CAA has revealed that other travellers from third countries that must present a negative test upon arrival include the following:

  1. Albania
  2. Argentina
  3. Bulgaria
  4. Brazil
  5. Georgia
  6. Cuba
  7. United States
  8. China
  9. Libya
  10. Morocco
  11. Northern Macedonia
  12. Pakistan
  13. Russia
  14. Turkey

Travellers from the countries mentioned above will have to undergo an airport check-in rapid test. If it results positive, the traveller has to perform a PCR test to confirm the result.

Moreover, nationals of third countries have to provide an essential reason for travelling to Greece or be permanent residents of the country to be allowed back in.

Travellers which are subject to more stringent entry requirements in Greece, including the following countries:

Australia, Northern Macedonia, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, United Kingdom, Israel, Canada, Belarus, Bahrain, New Zealand, South Korea, Qatar, China, Kuwait, Ukraine, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Japan, Lebanon, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Jordan, Moldova, Brunei, San Marino, Andorra, Vatican, Monaco, Turkey, Kosovo, Chinese, Taipei.

Furthermore, CAA reminds all travellers to complete the Passenger Locator Form anytime before departure, regardless of their nationality. 

The form is considered a necessary travel document as it helps the government contact travellers throughout their stay in the country.

Travellers are reminded to wear a face mask at all times throughout the flight.

Moreover, the Authority reveals that for travellers to enter the country quarantine free, they have to provide one of the following documents:

1) A vaccination certificate older than 14 days issued by a public authority in Greek, English, French, German, Italian, Spanish or Russian.

2) Provide a negative PCR test performed within 72 hours or 48 hours before they arrive in Greece for those tested with a rapid test.

3) Present a recovery certificate issued 30 days after the first positive test, with a validity of 180 days.

4) Present the EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate.

Children from years and older must present a vaccination, negative test, recovery certificate, or digital certificate to enter Greece.