Greece bans travelers from 9 African countries following Omicron breakout

African Omicron COVID-19 variant

The Hellenic Civil Aviation Authority issued a NOTAM on the entry of travellers coming from the African continent following the emergence of the new COVID-19 Omicron variant.

According to the directives in the NOTAM, passengers from the African countries of South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Lesotho, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Eswatini, Zambia and Malawi are prohibited from entering Greece.

The Notam for passengers from these nine African countries will be valid until 3/12/21 and provides the following:

Only Greek passengers and citizens of other countries who travel for essential reasons and meet the following conditions are excluded from the air directive:

1) To have been diagnosed negative in a laboratory test for COVID-19 coronavirus by the PCR method within the last seventy-two (72) hours, regardless of their vaccination status.

2) To have obtained permission from the local Embassies, Consulates, and Consular Authorities of other countries, which represent our country in case of absence of the Greek Embassy.

3) All travelers from the nine African countries will be required to undergo a rapid test for Covid-19 upon arrival in Greece.

4) After entering the country will be imposed a restriction, quarantine of ten days, in a designated area by the competent authorities and re-inspection of passengers after the expiration of ten days and the end of quarantine subject to negative PCR test.

5) Exceptions for the specific passengers from the nine African countries do not exempt travelers from any other condition of entry into Greece that is already in force.

The requirement of conditions (NOTAM for passengers of flights from the nine African countries for entry into Greece is valid for children from twelve years and over.

READ MORE: What does the Greek Letter Omicron mean?