Macron elected as honorary member of the Academy of Athens

Emmanuel Macron in Athens 2017

French President Emmanuel Macron was elected to be an honorary member of he Academy of Athens during its plenary meeting on Thursday.

According to the citation, Macron was recognised "for his inspired and substantial contribution to promoting and boosting European unification, as well as for his multifaceted and significant support of Greece and of Cyprus."

The Academy described the current French president as "the heir of the tradition of President of the French Republic Francois Mitterrand and French President of the European Commission Jacques Delors."

They added that he is "undoubtedly one of the most passionate of European leaders who support the enhancement of European unification."

The Academy of Athens is Greece's national academy, and the highest research establishment in the country.

It was established in 1926, with its founding principle traces back to the historical Academy of Plato, and operates under the supervision of the Ministry of Education. The Academy's main building is one of the major landmarks of Athens.

1024px Akademie von Athen

The Academy today, maintains 14 research centres, 5 research offices and the "Ioannis Sykoutris" library. In 2002, the Foundation for Biomedical Research of the Academy of Athens was established.

From its foundation, the Academy of Athens has been a member of the International Association of Academies (AIA), and the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU). It also participates in the following body: All European Academies (ALLEA), European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC), Inter Academy Council (IAC), Inter Academy Medical Panel (IAMP).

1280px Socrates by Leonidas Drosis%2C Athens Academy of Athens

The organisation of the Academy of Athens, whose title hearkens back to the ancient Academy of Plato, was first established on 18 March 1926, and its charter was ratified by the law 4398/1929.

This charter, with subsequent amendments, is still valid and governs the Academy's affairs. According to it, the Academy is divided into three Orders: Natural Sciences, Letters and Arts, Moral and Political Sciences.

READ MORE: Greek Parliament platforms Azov Battalion fighter: Gov’t spox says “it was wrong and inappropriate.”