Academy punishes Will Smith with a 10 year Oscars ban

will 2

The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences has issued a 10 year Oscars ban on Hollywood star Will Smith after a meeting on Friday of the Board of Governors to discuss the consequences of Smith's assault on presenter Chris Rock during the ceremony of the 94th Oscars.

In a brief statement, Smith responded to the Academy's decision saying he "accepts and respects" the verdict.

Here is the Academy's statement:

“The 94th Oscars were meant to be a celebration of the many individuals in our community who did incredible work this past year; however, those moments were overshadowed by the unacceptable and harmful behavior we saw Mr. Smith exhibit on stage.

During our telecast, we did not adequately address the situation in the room. For this, we are sorry. This was an opportunity for us to set an example for our guests, viewers and our Academy family around the world, and we fell short — unprepared for the unprecedented.

Today, the Board of Governors convened a meeting to discuss how best to respond to Will Smith’s actions at the Oscars, in addition to accepting his resignation. The Board has decided, for a period of 10 years from April 8, 2022, Mr. Smith shall not be permitted to attend any Academy events or programs, in person or virtually, including but not limited to the Academy Awards.

We want to express our deep gratitude to Mr. Rock for maintaining his composure under extraordinary circumstances. We also want to thank our hosts, nominees, presenters and winners for their poise and grace during our telecast.

This action we are taking today in response to Will Smith’s behavior is a step toward a larger goal of protecting the safety of our performers and guests, and restoring trust in the Academy. We also hope this can begin a time of healing and restoration for all involved and impacted.”

The Board members are:

  • Rita Wilson, Actors Branch
  • Kim Taylor-Coleman, Casting Directors Branch
  • Paul Cameron, Cinematographers Branch
  • Eduardo Castro, Costume Designers Branch
  • Jean Tsien, Documentary Branch
  • Pam Abdy, Executives Branch
  • Terilyn A. Shropshire, Film Editors Branch
  • Laura C. Kim, Marketing and Public Relations Branch
  • Lesley Barber, Music Branch
  • Gary C. Bourgeois, Sound Branch
  • Brooke Breton, Visual Effects Branch
  • Howard A. Rodman, Writers Branch
  • Susanne Bier, Directors Branch
  • Jennifer Todd, Producers Branch
  • Tom Duffield, Production Design Branch
  • Bonnie Arnold, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch
  • Kate Amend, Documentary Branch
  • Craig Barron, Visual Effects Branch
  • Howard Berger, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch
  • Charles Bernstein, Music Branch
  • Jon Bloom, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch
  • Rob Bredow, Visual Effects Branch
  • Ruth E. Carter, Costume Designers Branch
  • Kevin Collier, Sound Branch
  • Laura Dern, Actors Branch
  • Teri E. Dorman, Sound Branch
  • Dody J. Dorn, Film Editors Branch
  • Ava DuVernay, Directors Branch
  • Linda Flowers, Makeup and Hairstylists Branch
  • DeVon Franklin, Governors-At-Large, nominated by the President and elected by the board
  • Rodrigo García, Governors-At-Large, nominated by the President and elected by the board
  • Donna Gigliotti, Executives Branch
  • Whoopi Goldberg, Actors Branch
  • Lynette Howell Taylor, Producers Branch
  • Mark Johnson, Producers Branch
  • Larry Karaszewski, Writers Branch
  • Laura Karpman, Music Branch
  • Christina Kounelias, Marketing and Public Relations Branch
  • Ellen Kuras. Cinematographers Branch
  • David Linde, Executives Branch
  • Isis Mussenden, Costume Designers Branch
  • Jennifer Yuh Nelson, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch
  • Jan Pascale, Production Design Branch
  • Stephen Rivkin, Film Editors Branch
  • Eric Roth, Writers Branch
  • David Rubin, Casting Directors Branch
  • Steven Spielberg, Directors Branch
  • Wynn P. Thomas, Production Design Branch
  • Nancy Utley, Marketing and Public Relations Branch
  • Mandy Walker, Cinematographers Branch
  • Roger Ross Williams, Documentary Branch
  • Janet Yang, Governors-At-Large, nominated by the President and elected by the board
  • Debra Zane, Casting Directors Branch