Greek water polo champ Margarita Plevritou elected to FINA Athletes Committee


Greek water polo champ Margarita Plevritou was among the athletes elected to the world swimming body's  Athletes’ Committee for the 2022-2026 period, following a ceremony on the sidelines of the 19th FINA World Championships Budapest 2022.

The gender and discipline-balanced Athletes’ Committee, made up of athletes from swimming, diving, high diving, water polo, artistic swimming and open water swimming, will play a major role in ensuring that all voices at the heart of aquatics are heard and represented equally.

“Athletes are the heartbeat of aquatics. There is no sport without athletes. This is why I am so proud to be part of these historic elections today. With equal gender representation and athletes from all six continents across all disciplines, I have no doubt that those elected will strengthen and promote the athletes’ voice for the benefit of the entire aquatics community,” said FINA President Husain Al-Musallam.

“Today marks another significant step forward for both FINA and all aquatics athletes. The Athletes’ Committee will act as a critical link between athletes and FINA. Having the athlete community choose those who represent them in important decisions is critical for the future development of our beloved sport,” said the new FINA Athletes' Committee Chair Alia Atkinson.

Plevritou was  was named 2018/19 Most Valuable Player of the A1 Ethniki league in Greece.

In 2011 she and her younger sisters Eleftheria and Vasiliki left their hometown of Thessaloniki, Greece, to join Olympiacos Piraeus. She says the siblings enjoy a good relationship inside and outside of the sport. "I am quite strict with myself and with the girls. Whatever happens in the pool stays in the pool. Certainly there is competition in the water, but beyond that if one sees something that needs to be corrected they will say so. We help each other. We have a very good relationship. We are together 24 hours a day, both at home and in the pool together. We are very attached. Our dad always told us to do sports. It was something he liked very much, he liked to watch all sports. So the competitive bug kind of grew in us as well."

During the ceremony, Alia Atkinson (JAM) and Jack Laugher (GBR) were confirmed as the new FINA Athletes' Committee Chair and Vice-Chair respectively. The full elected FINA Athletes’ Committee for the 2022-2026 period is as follows:

FINA Athletes’ Committee Chair - Alia Atkinson (JAM)

FINA Athletes’ Committee Vice-Chair - Jack Laugher (GBR)

Artistic Swimming

Nehal Saafan
Bill May


Maria Polyakova

High Diving

Anna Bader
Alain Kohl

Open Water

Ana Marcela Cunha
Ferry Weertman


Therese Alshammar
Shane Ryan
Siobhan Bernadette Haughey
Dmitriy Balandin
Jessica Hansen
Ryan Pini
Jamila Nsibambi Lunkuse
Matthew Sates
Dylan Carter
Water Polo

Margarita Plevritou
Felipe Perrone Rocha

Pyx Lax Banner