Greece to be represented at United Cup 2023 in Australia

Stefanos Tsitsipas and Maria Sakkari

World's best men's and women's players unite for new 18-country teams' competition across three Australian cities.

The world’s best players will unite to compete side by side at the United Cup, a stunning new team event set to launch the global tennis season in 2023.

The United Cup, an ATP-WTA event presented in partnership with Tennis Australia, will showcase equality at the highest level of the sport, with mixed teams from 18 countries competing across Brisbane, Perth and Sydney over 11 days, from Thursday 29 December to Sunday 8 January 2023.

The power and passion of team competition will come to life as the players unite to represent their countries with national pride and USD $15 million in prize money on the line. In a world first for a mixed team event, 500 Pepperstone ATP Rankings and WTA rankings points are also up for grabs.

The first 12 countries will qualify via the six highest-ranked No. 1 players that enter, on both the ATP Tour and Hologic WTA Tour.

The remaining six countries will qualify according to the best combined ranking of their respective No. 1 men’s and women’s players. Teams will feature three to four players from each Tour.

Each city will host two groups of three countries, competing in a round-robin format, with ties comprising two ATP and two WTA singles matches, and one mixed doubles match. Each City Final winner will advance to the United Cup Final Four in Sydney (6-8 January), with the next best performing team from the group stages completing the quartet.

Dead certain countries for the line-up will be the likes of Spain with Carlos Alcaraz, Rafael Nadal, Paula Badosa etc as well as Greece who of course have Maria Sakkari and Stefanos Tsitsipas.

One country that could be left out though despite potential fanfare due to the rankings in Great Britain. Emma Raducanu's ranking slide and Andy Murray only being inside the top 50 could take away the chance to see the two play together if no wildcards are given.