How Many Islands Does Greece Have?

Kefalonia May greece greek islands travel

We can rattle on about all the Greeks islands we are aware of - Mykonos, Santorini, Corfu, Crete, Rhodes, Kos, Skopelos etc etc etc. . But could you name every single one of them?

Well that might be a little difficult considering there are more than 6,000 Greek Islands! Given that only around 230 are inhabited and about 80 have a population of more than 100, it is still a difficult task to name all of these.

In fact, of all the Greek islands, only about a dozen are major holiday destinations with another 20 having substantial tourist visitors.

There are six basic island groupings: the Ionian lies to the west and contains the holiday islands of Corfu, Lefkas, Kefalonia, and Zante. The Cyclades are found in the central Aegean and include Mykonos and Santorini as well as lesser-visited islands like Paros and Naxos.

To the east are the Dodecanese and major islands like Rhodes and Kos as well as smaller ones such as Symi and Patmos. To the northeast is the Sporades group which includes Skiathos and the north Aegean group of Samos, Lesvos, and Thassos.

To the south is Crete – big enough to be on its own.

READ MORE: Ethimo for the Mykonos Esti Luxury Villas.