Lomachenko vs. Kambosos Jr Weigh-In Results: Both Fighters Make Weight for IBF Lightweight Title Showdown

2024 05 Kambosos Perth Media 13

Former world champions Vasiliy Lomachenko and George Kambosos Jr will go head-to-head for the vacant IBF lightweight title at the RAC Arena in Perth, Australia on Saturday, May 11 (ET). Prior to the fight, both athletes stepped on the scales to make their weights official.

Ukraine's Vasiliy Lomachenko, a three-division world champion with a record of 17-3, 11 KOs, is aiming to return to the win column. On the other side, former unified WBA, WBO, and IBF lightweight champion George Kambosos Jr from Australia, with a record of 21-2, 10 KOs, is looking for his second consecutive victory. At the pre-fight press conference, Kambosos Jr vowed to retire Lomachenko. To be eligible for the title, both fighters needed to meet the 135-pound championship limit. Lomachenko weighed in at 134.95 lbs, while Kambosos Jr weighed in at 134.25 lbs.

In the co-feature, former world champion Andrew Moloney from Australia (26-3, 16 KOs) will face Pedro Guevara from Mexico (41-4-1, 22 KOs) for the interim WBC junior bantamweight title with a weight limit of 115 lbs.

Another highlight of the card is the defense of the British WBA bantamweight champion Nina Hughes (6-0, 2 KOs) against New Zealand-based former world champion Cherneka Johnson of Australia (15-2, 6 KOs) with a weight limit of 118 lbs. Hughes weighed in at 117.55 lbs, while Johnson weighed in at 116.75 lbs.

The weigh-in for Lomachenko vs. Kambosos Jr is set to begin at 8:30 pm ET in the U.S., 1:30 am BST in the UK, and 10:30 am AEST in Australia. The local fight date in Australia is Sunday, May 12.

Photo copyright Nick Bourdaniotis / Greek City Times

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Copyright Greekcitytimes 2024