Giannis Antetokounmpo Headlines Greek National Team Roster for SEF Pre-Olympic Tournament


The EEC has officially announced the pre-selection roster for the Greek National Team ahead of the SEF Pre-Olympic tournament, set to take place from July 2-7. Highlighting the roster is the inclusion of NBA superstar Giannis Antetokounmpo, a key player in Vassilis Spanoulis's squad.

Giannis Antetokounmpo's participation in the 18-player pre-selection roster is a significant boost for Greece as they prepare for the Pre-Olympic tournament. Spanoulis previously indicated that the Milwaukee Bucks star would play a crucial role, with SPORT24 reporting that the "Greek Freak" would begin training at SEF on June 3. The EEC's recent announcement confirms Antetokounmpo's commitment to helping Greece qualify for the Olympic Games.

Returning to the National Team after a year-long absence are Kostas Sloukas and Nick Kalathis, both of whom had previously confirmed their availability to SPORT24. Missing from the roster are the injured Thanasis Antetokounmpo and Nikos Rogavopoulos, who requested not to be called up due to injury concerns.

The detailed roster for the National Men's Team preparation includes:

Point Guards (PG):

  • Thomas Walkup
  • Nick Kalathis
  • Michalis Lountzis
  • Dimitris Moraitis

Shooting Guards (SG):

  • Kostas Sloukas
  • Giannoulis Larentzakis
  • Vassilis Kalaitzakis

Power Forwards (PF):

  • Giannis Antetokounmpo
  • Dinos Mitoglou
  • Giannis Kouzeloglou
  • Nikos Hougaz

Centers (C):

  • Georgios Papagiannis
  • Kostas Antetokounmpo

Training is set to commence on Monday, June 17. However, athletes who have already completed their commitments with their respective teams will start training on June 10 under the supervision of the National Team's training staff. Greece will host one of the four Pre-Olympic tournaments, featuring Croatia, New Zealand, Egypt, and the Dominican Republic.

The program for the Pre-Olympic Tournament at SEF is as follows:

July 2:

  • Egypt vs. Dominican Republic (17:30)
  • Slovenia vs. Croatia (21:00)

July 3:

  • Croatia vs. New Zealand (17:30)
  • Dominican Republic vs. Greece (21:00)

July 4:

  • New Zealand vs. Slovenia (17:30)
  • Greece vs. Egypt (21:00)

July 6:

  • Semi-final between the 2nd place team of Group B and the 1st place team of Group A
  • Semi-final between the 1st place team of Group B and the 2nd place team of Group A

July 7:

  • Final (21:00)
No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Copyright Greekcitytimes 2024