2023 Wimbledon ATP Draw With Djokovic, Kyrgios, Tsitsipas & more

Novak Djokovic impressed by Stefanos Tsitsipas and other 'Next Gens'

The 2023 Wimbledon tournament is set to take place from July 3rd to 16th and the ATP draw has already been announced. This Grand Slam event is widely regarded as the most prestigious, with a rich history of memorable moments.

Novak Djokovic has played a significant role in creating that history and is poised to add another chapter to his impressive career in 2023.

Last year, Djokovic claimed his 21st Grand Slam title and his fourth consecutive Wimbledon victory. This year, he aims to defend his title and potentially equal the all-time record for most Grand Slam victories by securing his 24th major win.

Despite his impressive record, Djokovic will not be the top seed in the tournament. He is seeded second and will face Pedro Cachin in his first match after playing a warm-up match. The top-seeded player, Carlos Alcaraz, poses the biggest threat to Djokovic's title defense and will face Jeremy Chardy in the opening round.

Daniil Medvedev, who missed the 2022 Wimbledon due to injury, is seeded third and will play against Arthur Fery in the first round. Casper Ruud, known for his unconventional preparation, will be the fourth seed and will face Laurent Lokoli in the opening match.

Nick Kyrgios, last year's finalist, has had a less than ideal preparation due to injury but is still considered as a strong contender.

Nick Kyrgios seems ready to shoot for the Wimbledon title again, but a late change in the scheduling of his pre-tournament news conference has led to more question marks over his fitness to play.

Australia’s 2022 finalist was drawn as No.30 seed to play Belgian wild card David Goffin in the first round at the All England Club on Monday, easing fears he may not compete because of struggles with a long-standing knee injury.

Young talents Holger Rune and Jannik Sinner are also expected to perform well in the tournament. Rune will play against George Loffhagen, while Sinner will meet Juan Manuel Cerundolo in their opening matches.

Matteo Berrettini, the 2021 finalist, faces a challenging start as he takes on Lorenzo Sonego, a player who has caused him difficulty in the past. Alexander Zverev and Frances Tiafoe are also names to watch in the draw, with Zverev starting against qualifier Gijs Brouwer and Tiafoe facing the tough opponent Yibing Wu.

World No. 5 Stefanos Tsitsipas and 2020 US Open champion Dominic Thiem are set to duke it out in the first round of the 2023 Wimbledon on Tuesday

The two are familiar rivals, having faced off nine times prior to this. Thiem leads Tsitsipas 5-4 in the head-to-head. The latter won their most recent encounter at the 2023 Madrid Open in three sets.

The 2023 Wimbledon tournament promises to be an exciting and fiercely competitive event, with several top-ranked players vying for the title. Fans can expect a thrilling display of skill and determination as these athletes battle it out on the grass courts.

2023 Wimbledon ATP Draw With Djokovic, Kyrgios, Tsitsipas & more 1
2023 Wimbledon ATP Draw With Djokovic, Kyrgios, Tsitsipas & more 2

2023 Wimbledon ATP Draw:

  1. Carlos Alcaraz (1) 2. Jeremy Chardy 3. Alexandre Muller 4. Arthur Rinderknech 5. Jason Kubler 6. Ugo Humbert 7. Marco Cecchinato 8. Nicolas Jarry (25) 9. Alexander Zverev (19) 10. Gijs Brouwer 11. Marc-Andrea Huesler 12. Yosuke Watanuki 13. Matteo Berrettini 14. Lorenzo Sonego 15. Kimmer Coppejans 16. Alex de Minaur (15) 17. Frances Tiafoe (10) 18. Yibing Wu 19. Jason Kubler 20. Dominic Stricker 21. Alexei Popyrin 22. Ilya Ivashka 23. Sho Shimabukuro 24. Grigor Dimitrov (21) 25. Alejandro Davidovich Fokina (31) 26. Arthur Fils 27. Zhizhen Zhang 28. Botic van de Zandschulp 29. Matteo Arnaldi 30. Roberto Carballes Baena 31. George Loffhagen 32. Holger Rune (6) 33. Daniil Medvedev (3) 34. Arthur Fery 35. Adrian Mannarino 36. Aleksander Shevchenko 37. Marcos Giron 38. Hugo Dellien 39. Marton Fucsovics 40. Tallon Griekspoor (28) 41. Francisco Cerundolo (18) 42. Nuno Borges 43. Jiri Lehecka 44. Sebastian Ofner 45. Milos Raonic 46. Dennis Novak 47. Shintaro Mochizuki 48. Tommy Paul (16) 49. Cameron Norrie (12) 50. Tomas Machac 51. Christopher Eubanks 52. Thiago Monteiro 53. Christopher O'Connell 54. Hamad Medjedovic 55. Jiri Vesely 56. Sebastian Korda (22) 57. Ben Shelton (32) 58. Taro Daniel 59. Maxime Cressy 60. Laslo Djere 61. Ryan Peniston 62. Andy Murray 63. Dominic Thiem 64. Stefanos Tsitsipas (5) 65. Jannik Sinner (8) 66. Juan Manuel Cerundolo 67. Miomir Kecmanovic 68. Diego Schwartzman 69. Aleksander Vukic 70. Daniel Altmaier 71. Quentin Halys 72. Daniel Evans (27) 73. Yoshihito Nishioka (24) 74. Daniel Elahi Galan 75. Dominic Koepfer 76. Oscar Otte 77. Mikael Ymer 78. Alex Molcan 79. Yannick Hanfmann 80. Taylor Fritz (9) 81. Borna Coric (13) 82. Guido Pella 83. Benjamin Bonzi 84. Harold Mayot 85. Corentin Moutet 86. Richard Gasquet 87. Roman Safiullin 88. Roberto Bautista Agut (20) 89. Denis Shapovalov (26) 90. Radu Albot 91. Lloyd Harris 92. Gregoire Barrere 93. Liam Broady 94. Constant Lestienne 95. Laurent Lokoli 96. Casper Ruud (4) 97. Andrey Rublev (7) 98. Max Purcell 99. Luca Van Assche 100. Aslan Karatsev 101. Sebastian Baez 102. Tomas Barrios Vera 103. David Goffin 104. Nick Kyrgios (30) 105. Alexander Bublik (23) 106. Mackenzie McDonald 107. J.J. Wolf 108. Enzo Couacaud 109. Maximilan Marterer 110. Borna Gojo 111. Filip Krajinovic 112. Felix Auger-Aliassime (11) 113. Lorenzo Musetti (14) 114. Juan Pablo Varillas 115. John Isner 116. Jaume Munar 117. Jan Choinski 118. Dusan Lajovic 119. Albert Ramos-Vinolas 120. Hubert Hurkacz (17) 121. Tomas Martin Etcheverry (29) 122. Bernabe Zapata Miralles 123. Emil Ruusuvuori 124. Stan Wawrinka 125. Jordan Thompson 126. Brandon Nakashima 127. Pedro Cachin 128. Novak Djokovic (2)

Copyright Greekcitytimes 2024