Speed ​​limits: No more than 130 kilometres per hour

Speed ​​limits

The Ministers of Transport of the EU countries are invited to make decisions regarding road speed limits. And if climate change... dictates a lowering of the limits for lower pollutants (this is, of course, relative), modern new highways impose an increase and intra-city roads a decrease, for safety reasons.

In European Union countries, national laws set speed limits and may vary between member states. Speed ​​limits are important for the safety of drivers and pedestrians and also affect fuel consumption and emissions.

Typically, speed limits vary by road type and region. For example, in residential areas, the limits are usually around 50 kilometres per hour, while on national roads and motorways, they can reach 100-130 kilometres per hour.

Some countries, such as Germany, have parts of the motorway with no standard speed limit, although a 'recommended' speed is 130 kilometres per hour. Other countries like Estonia and Cyprus have lower speed limits than the EU average.

In the European road community, the debate on motorway speed is taking on new dimensions. One country has already made decisions; a second one will take it immediately.

In Italy, the discussion on increasing the speed to 150 km/h is completed, while in the Czech Republic, with the recent approval of a law, the speed increase is now up to 150 km/h on the highways.

In Greece, the conversation has yet to start officially, which must be done since there are now ridiculously reduced limits on roads and high limits in places where they shouldn't be...

The maximum speed limits in the EU:

Austria: 130 km/h
Belgium: 120 km/h
Bulgaria: 140 km/h
Croatia: 130 km/h
Cyprus: 100 km/h Czech
Republic: 150 km/h
Denmark: 130 km/ h
Estonia: 110 km/h (Summer), 90 km/h (Winter)
Finland: 120 km/h (Summer), 100 km/h (Winter)
France: 130 km/h (Summer), 110 km/h ( When it rains)
Germany: There is no maximum limit on some sections of the Autobahn, but there is a recommended speed of 130 km/h.
Greece: 130 km/h
Hungary: 130 km/h
Ireland: 120 km/h
Italy: 130 km/h
Latvia: 110 km/h
Lithuania: 130 km/h
Luxembourg: 130 km/h
Malta: 80 km/h
Netherlands: 130 km/h (can be reduced to 100 km/h in some areas)
Poland: 140 km/h
Portugal: 120 km/h
Romania: 130 km/h
Slovakia: 130 km/h
Slovenia: 130 km/h
Spain: 120 km/h
Sweden: 120 km/h

READ MORE: Who is the Greek owner of the rare McLaren Senna?


Copyright Greekcitytimes 2024