A Kennedy in Cook invites Greek Australians to consider him this Saturday


Following former Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrisons' formal resignation in February this year  to take on “new challenges in the global corporate sector”  his seat of Cook will now be represented by Simon Kennedy who invites Greek Australians in the area to entrust him with their vote and make him their representative in Canberra.

Kennedy defeated three other candidates to win the Liberal Party's preselection to contest the seat of Cook held by Morrison with a 12 per cent margin.

"Our country faces real challenges. Households and small businesses are struggling with the cost of living under Labor.

"On average, households are around $130 a week worse off since Labor was elected, including many local families of Greek background who have made a great contribution to this community; and whose support I am hoping to receive this Saturday, April 13."

Kennedy can relate to the Greek Australian work ethic, and migration story following the post War period as he learnt those values from his mother.

"I learned the values of hard work and service from my mother who worked hard to support me and my grandfather, who served in World War II, and helped raise me.

"As your representative, I would stand up for people who work hard to get ahead and support those who give back to the community. Most importantly, I will always listen." adds Kennedy.

The electorate of Cook enjoys a high percentage of residents of Greek heritage, in some suburbs as high as 22%:

Monterey 22%
Beverley Park 22%
Sandringham (NSW) 20%
Kogarah Bay 20%
Kyle Bay 19%
Sans Souci 18%
Blakehurst 17%
Carss Park 16%
Connells Point 15%
Ramsgate 15%
Kangaroo Point (NSW) 14%
Ramsgate Beach 13%
Dolls Point 13%
Sylvania Waters 13%
Taren Point 11%
Sylvania 9%
Kogarah 7%
Miranda (NSW) 3%
Gymea 3%
Kurnell 2%

Following are the 6 candidates who have been officially declared for the 2024 Cook by-election.

  1. KOLHATKAR, Vinay - Libertarian
  2. BROWN, Natasha - Animal Justice Party
  3. WOODWARD, Roger - Independent
  4. MOORE, Martin - The Greens
  5. KENNEDY, Simon - Liberal
  6. GAGATAM, Simone Francis - Sustainable Australia Party

Voting on the day:
(Polling places open at 8am and close at 6pm sharp)

Bald Face Public School
84 Stuart St, Blakehurst
Wheelchair accessible

Brighton-Le-Sands Public School
35 Crawford Rd, Brighton-Le-Sands
Wheelchair accessible

Burraneer Bay Public School
161-165 Burraneer Bay Rd, Burraneer
Assisted wheelchair access

Our Lady of Mercy Catholic College
The Mercy Centre 49 Dominic St, Burraneer
Assisted wheelchair access

Caringbah High School
85 Willarong Rd, Caringbah
Assisted wheelchair access

St Phil's Anglican Church Hall
402 Port Hacking Rd, Caringbah
Wheelchair accessible

Caringbah Public School
Actinotus Ave, Caringbah South
Not wheelchair accessible

Laguna Street Public School
204 Caringbah Rd, Caringbah South
Assisted wheelchair access

Carlton South Public School
67 Jubilee Ave, Carlton
Assisted wheelchair access

Blakehurst Public School
Dewrang St, Carss Park
Wheelchair accessible

Connells Point Public School
2 Riverview Ave, Connells Point
Wheelchair accessible

Cronulla Public School
18-24 Burraneer Bay Rd, Cronulla
Not wheelchair accessible

Cronulla South Public School
Trevellyon St, Cronulla
Assisted wheelchair access

St Aloysius Catholic Primary School Cronulla
7-17 Giddings Ave, Cronulla
Assisted wheelchair access

Cronulla High School
Bate Bay Rd, Greenhills Beach
Not wheelchair accessible

Gymea Community Centre
31-33 Gymea Bay Rd, Gymea
Assisted wheelchair access

Gymea North Public School
23 Ruby Rd, Gymea
Wheelchair accessible

Gymea Bay Public School
205A Gymea Bay Rd, Gymea Bay
Assisted wheelchair access

Gymea Peoples Church
166 Gymea Bay Rd, Gymea Bay
Not wheelchair accessible

St George School
2A Marshall St, Kogarah
Assisted wheelchair access

Congregational Church Hall
Cnr Wyee St & Souter St, Kogarah Bay
Not wheelchair accessible

Kurnell Public School
Torres St, Kurnell
Assisted wheelchair access

Lilli Pilli Public School
2C Turriell Bay Rd, Lilli Pilli
Wheelchair accessible

Miranda Community Centre
93-95 Karimbla Rd, Miranda
Not wheelchair accessible

Miranda North Public School
162B The Boulevarde, Miranda
Assisted wheelchair access

Miranda Public School
3 Sylva Ave, Miranda
Wheelchair accessible

Port Hacking High School
637 Kingsway, Miranda
Assisted wheelchair access

Ramsgate Public School
59 Chuter Ave, Ramsgate Beach
Not wheelchair accessible

Sans Souci Community Pre-school
95 Clareville Ave, Sandringham
Not wheelchair accessible

Ramsgate Scout Hall
38 Park Rd, Sans Souci
Not wheelchair accessible

Sans Souci Public School
413 Rocky Point Rd, Sans Souci
Assisted wheelchair access

Sylvania Anglican Church
98 Holt Rd, Sylvania
Assisted wheelchair access

Sylvania Heights Public School
66 Venetia St, Sylvania
Wheelchair accessible

Sylvania High School
17 Bellingara Rd, Sylvania
Assisted wheelchair access

Sylvania Public School
Ellis St, Sylvania
Assisted wheelchair access

Taren Point Public School
93 Woodlands Rd, Taren Point
Assisted wheelchair access

Woolooware High School
2R Woolooware Rd, Woolooware
Assisted wheelchair access

Woolooware Public School
34 Wills Rd, Woolooware
Assisted wheelchair access

Yowie Bay Public School
Wonga Rd, Yowie Bay
Assisted wheelchair access

(Source: Australian Electoral Commission)

GCT Team

This article was researched and written by a GCT team member.

Copyright Greekcitytimes 2024