Three more stations on Athens Metro Line 3 will open by July

Athens Metro Line 3

Athens Metro Line 3

Greece's Transport Minister Kostas Karamanlis on Thursday announced that three more stations on Line 3 of the Athens metro, also known as the blue line, will open to passengers by early July.

The line, which is currently being extended to the port of Piraeus, south of the capital, will include six new stations – Agia Varvara, Korydallos, Nikaia, Maniatika, Piraeus and Dimotiko Theatro (Municipal Theater).

"A few months ago, I pledged that at the beginning of the summer we will have the first three stations of the Metro extension to Piraeus ready: Agia Varvara, Korydallos and Nikaia. In order to achieve this, we have been working intensively all this time," Karamanlis stated during the tour of Agia Varvara station. He also noted that during the pandemic, work continued with the strict observance of all safety measures and employee protection, as instructed by experts.

The aim is to have the remaining three stations ready by 2022, the minster added.

Line 3 currently runs from Agia Marina to Doukissis Plakentias station in northern Athens and Athens International Airport, in eastern Attica.